Repository

Various members of the Kitodo community are currently working on a module with publication server functionality. A first prototypical implementation called Kitodo.Publication already exists.

The Kitodo.Publication module is based on TYPO3. It forms the user interface and administrative environment of a publication server. It was developed by the Saxon State and University Library Dresden in association with effective WEBWORK and is currently being used live on the Qucosa project: http://slub.qucosa.de/ and http://ul.qucosa.de/

Source code on GitHub

Kitodo.Publication does not yet form part of the official Kitodo Suite, but it is an interesting project developed by the Kitodo community.

Backend

The backend of Kitodo.Publication offers the following functions:

  • Metadata mapping: the form fields on a connected Fedora repository can be flexibly mapped to the metadata in METS/MODS in the mapping handle.

  • Backend manager: published documents, documents added for publication, and new documents can be edited in the backend manager. Editing includes functions such as checking a document for duplicate copies, displaying a preview (using Kitodo.Presentation), duplicating a document, and publishing/updating documents.

  • Backend search: documents in the connected repository can be searched using the backend search. The documents returned can then be imported into the local workspace for editing.

  • Document form: the separate metadata of a document can be edited and saved for the local workspace in the form section.

Frontend

The frontend offers the following functions:

  • Document type list: the module contains a list of configured document types available for publication. Selecting a document type takes the user to the frontend form.

  • Document form: the frontend form displays the configured metadata fields and allows frontend users to announce publications. After sending the form, the entered metadata are listed in the backend manager and can then be published.

Reuse

Like all Kitodo components, Kitodo.Publication is open source software that can be freely reused. The source code can be found on GitHub.

As a TYPO3 extension, this publication server is particularly suitable for libraries that already use the popular content management system. This solution is especially useful if Kitodo – and particularly Kitodo.Presentation – is already in use, as the new module allows for significant simplification and homogenisation of the technical infrastructure.

Despite a number of unique selling points, the module is still very new and does not feature the maturity of a long-established solution for document servers in all of its functions. Where highly specific requirements exist, it may therefore require further development. Thanks to the popularity of TYPO3, however, there are a relatively high number of potential development partners in possession of the relevant expertise – e.g. effective WEBWORK.

Publikationsserver

Das TYPO3-basierte Modul Kitodo.Publication bildet die Benutzerschnittstelle und die Administrationsumgebung eines Dokumentenservers ab. Es wurde von der SLUB Dresden in Zusammenarbeit mit der effective WEBWORK entwickelt und wird produktiv im Rahmen des Qucosa-Projektes eingesetzt: http://slub.qucosa.de/ und http://ul.qucosa.de/

Backend

Das Backend bietet folgende Funktionen:

  • Metadaten Mapping: In dem Mapping-Handle können die einzelnen Formularfelder des Dokumentenservers flexibel auf die Metadaten im Mets/Mods abgebildet werden.

  • Backend Manager: Im Backend Manager können veröffentlichte Dokumente, zur Veröffentlichung hinzugefügte Dokumente und neue Dokumente bearbeitet werden. Zum Bearbeiten gehören auch Funktionen wie z.B. die Überprüfung eines Dokuments auf Dubletten, Anzeigen einer Vorschau (über Kitodo.Presentation), Duplizieren eines Dokuments und das Veröffentlichen/Aktualisieren von Dokumenten.

  • Backend Suche: In der Backend Suche können Dokumente aus dem angeschlossenen Repository durchsucht werden. Die gefundenen Dokumente können dann zur Bearbeitung in den lokalen Arbeitsbereich importiert werden.

  • Dokument Formular: In dem Formularbereich können die einzelnen Metadaten eines Dokuments bearbeitet und für den lokalen Bereich abgespeichert werden.
Backend Manager von Kitodo.Publication

Frontend

Das Frontend bietet folgende Funktionen:

  • Dokumenttyp Liste: Das Modul besitzt eine Liste der konfigurierten Dokumenttypen, die für eine Veröffentlichung zur Verfügung stehen. Sobald man einen Dokumenttyp ausgewählt hat, landet man im Frontend Formular.

  • Dokument Formular: Das Frontend Formular zeigt die konfigurierten Metadatenfelder an und ermöglicht Frontend Benutzern das Anmelden von Veröffentlichungen. Die eingegebenen Metadaten werden nach dem Abschicken des Formulars im Backend Manager aufgelistet und können im nächsten Schritt veröffentlicht werden.

Nachnutzung

Kitodo.Publication kann als Open Source Software frei nachgenutzt werden. Der Quellcode ist auf Github zu finden.

Als TYPO3-Extension eignet sich dieser Publikationsserver vor allem für Bibliotheken, die bereits das weit verbreitete Content-Management-System im Einsatz haben. Besonders interessant ist diese Lösung, wenn auch Kitodo – vor allem Kitodo.Presentation – bereits zum Einsatz kommt. Dann lässt sich mit dem neuen Modul die technische Infrastruktur deutlich vereinfachen und homogenisieren.

Da das Modul noch sehr jung ist, weist es trotz einiger Alleinstellungsmerkmale noch nicht in allen Funktionen die Reife einer lang etablierten Lösung für Dokumentenserver auf. Bei sehr spezifischen Anforderungen kann demnach die Notwendigkeit der Weiterentwicklung bestehen. Durch die verbreitete technische Basis TYPO3 lassen sich aber relativ viele potentielle Entwicklungspartner mit entsprechender Kompetenz finden – wie z.B. die effective WEBWORK.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in einem Beitrag von Matthias Finck in b.i.t.online.